RSS

#BookReview Devi, Diva or She-Devil by @sudhamenon2006

01 May

Devi-Diva-or-She-Devil-254x405Books become special to you for the way they touch you or your life. I came across Devi, Diva or She-Devil at a very appropriate time in my life. There I was struggling to understand my career and the course it was taking and the way I was precariously managing home and all the while feeling guilty and out of breath. This book if not for the good read that it was, gave me a perspective, which is what it set out in the first place.

Let me tell you a little about Sudha Menon, and I have to add this because I think I am tad bit partial to her (not without reason). I met her (my very first author interview) at a quaint like cafe called the Wishing Chair in Shahpurjat a few years back. What I love best about her work, is her meticulous research, deep understanding and sensitivity of dealing with issues, which she presents most beautifully. Hence my admiration for her is dated and this book is just another book that I hold dear to me.

Like someone who is sitting on a higher branch telling you how things are, to make you understand that sometimes it is okay to be you, even if you are imperfect; Sudha Menon gives you a much needed perspective. It does not really matter if you are just a home maker or a workaholic professional; this book will resonate with you.

Told through detailed accounts by sportsperson Mary Kom, actor Lilette Dubey, Farah Khan, and other prominent successful women from the corporate and business world. This is a book that will resonate with every woman out there trying to battle guilt and do what they truly love and answer their true calling. A comment that struck me long after I was done with the book was  a woman’s choice of a spouse or partner could possibly be the most important factor in deciding the direction in which her career heads”. – Leena Nair, Unilever. You are startled to realize it is true even in today’s day and age.

There were so many moments where I found relatable, for a newly married working professional, this book was literally like a handbook. While it showed you the way life is, it gave you alternatives, it calmed your fears and in the end empowered you to pursue what the heart desired.

Whattey read! This is going to be one book I will keep going back to, for comfort and courage.

A must read.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 1, 2017 in books

 

Leave a Reply

 
