RSS

#BookReview Korma, Kheer & Kismet- Five Seasons in Delhi by Pamela Timms

14 Oct

korma-kheer-kismet-pamela-timms-book-review-aleph-old-delhi-five-seasonsif you are an epicure, read this book at your own risk; for it may make you hungry specially if you have no access to food at the very moment. I packed this book with my belongings while I was going home to Kolkata for my annual puja vacations. As the flight took off and I started turning the pages I became enamoured by the way Pamela took us in her quest of food, the way she described her experience and honestly in no time I was hungry! what best this book has recipes dedicated with each of the chapters, so if not anything you have a guide to russle up something similar. That is exactly what I did when I was hosting a small party at home where the mutton Korma was replicated!

The book started with exploring the Ashok & Ashok korma which is famous in old Delhi area. Even while penning this my mouth is watering. Is it interesting to know the food history of the plate of yummy food you are devouring? I surely loved it and it made me put that Korma at Ashok & Ashok on my must do list! What best it intrigued me so much that I used the recipe to make mutton! If the reaction of the guests is anything to go by, that was some great mutton; that doubled my interest in visiting the outlet peaked. I think this is where the book scored! Not only did it tantalize the taste buds, it build an interest and it gave a recipe as a takeaway! To me this book scored and how!

Simply loved the book for a multiple reason, first i am a foodie, I am a relatively new addition to Delhi and its home so its good to know a facet of Delhi which is away from its plush cafe’s and fine dining. That it is written well and has a superb execution is just a bonus.

Do pick this book up as it delights you like no other.

Praise for the book

“Part of a group called ‘Eating Out in Delhi’, Timms talks serious food business. You must go to Bade Mian’s 100-year-old shop for kheer, experience Moinuddin’s melting beef kebabs in Gali Qasim Jan, have Hira Lal’s kulle chaat at Chawri Bazaar, and the heavenly chicken korma, biryani and the rich shahi tukda at Matia Mahal to somewhat complete the Old Delhi experience.” – DNA

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 14, 2014 in books

 

Leave a Reply

 
