#BookReview Be careful what you wish for by Jeffry Archer

24 Apr

The Clifton Chronicles: The Story So Far…

Be careful what you wish for is the fourth book of the Clifton Chronicles; others being Only Time Will Tell (2011), The Sins of the Father (2012) and Best Kept Secret (2013). The Cliffton Chronicles is by far the most ambitious series by Jeffry Archer which spans generations. In case you have not read the predeccors of this book. Here is a sneak peak:

Only Time Will Tell:

Harry works on the dock in Bristol. His life changes when he wins a a scholarship to an exclusive boys’ school. Only when he enters adulthood does he get to know about the truth behind his parentage. From the dockyards to the scion of the West Country society, whose family owns a shipping line, Harry Clifton life will be the pivot based on which all the future volumes was based.

Sins of the Father:

Harry Clifton joins the merchant navy to escape from long-buried family secrets and the disappointment of not being able to marry Emma. Harry’s ship is sunk by the Germans and he is rescued by an American cruise liner where he assumes the identity of Tom Bradshaw who died into the night, in a bid to assume a new identity to start afresh. In America, Harry realizes the mess he has got himself into. He has no way to prove his real identity and he is in a far greater mess than he had hoped to avert.

Best Kept Secret: 

In the House of Lords, voting is on as to who should inherit the Barrington family fortune. There is a tie and Lord Chancellor’s vote would decide who cast a long shadow on the lives of Harry Clifton and Giles Barrington. Giles Barrington has to defend his seat, it is then Sebastian Clifton (son of Emma and Harry) influences his uncles fate. With Sebastian winning a scholarship to Cambridge, we are introduced to the new generation of the Cliftons. The story changes when Sebastian is embroiled in an international fraud and what happens next is what Best Kept Secret addresses.

images Be Careful What You Wish For:

The fourth installment of the Cliffton Series is by far the most intriguing with so many twists and turns that you are reluctant to keep the book down before finishing, in the fear of losing the plot. This series sees Emma, wife of Harry take the center stage.

Emma becomes chairman of her family shipping company when the construction of a luxury liner is sabotaged during construction in Belfast by family rival and Nazi supporter Argentinian gangster Don Pedro Martinez. Martinez hates the Barrington-Cliftons as they ruined his plans of disposing the Nazi counterfeit money.In a bid to harm the Clifftons, Martinez attempts to kill Sebastian which resulted in the death of his own son which adds to Martinez’ desire for revenge. 

With his stooges in place in the board of directors of the company, Martinez waits to pull out stops on the comany as Emma Barrington takes over as the new chairman of the board. Emma, successfully triumphs the troubles coming her way both on professional and personal front. Sebastian joins Cedric Hardcastle as his assistant and pulls of an operation against Martinez which had a history of being derailed before hereby proving his mettle.

In this part of the book a lot of new characters have been introduced which was not there in the other parts. The thing is, it is not easy to start with an idea to have a series of books which would eventually tell a larger tale this despite each of the books being standalone itself! To be honest to read the fourth installment, i did have to go back and read all the parts. I did make an exception and read ebooks because I did not want to miss out on this one! What I loved about the book was it is was very easy to read and did not bog me down. This was one of those books I wanted to spend more time to finish off and there were far too many distractions. But I am glad I finished it for I would have missed out on something truly awesome. Now I know why my fellow blogger, Yatin raves about Archer for his truly is phenomenal.

Pick your copy now, this is a collectors item.

Book Source : Publisher

Publisher : Pan Macmillan

Genre : Fiction

Leave a comment

Posted by on April 24, 2014 in books


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: