RSS

#BookReview Race of My Life : Milkha Singh’s Autobiography

03 Sep

milkha-bio-final-630Being the kind of person who would prefer a book to a movie, it did not come as a surprise that I choose to read the book despite having seen the moment. For records, I did not like the movie and felt a crisp editing would have had a better impact on the story. Having said that I wanted to see for myself if the book is any different and I wanted to read those parts that are usually left aside while onscreen adaptation because of creative call,

Personally I think that the release of the book couldnt have been better timed, what with the release of the movie garnering great response. But honestly, I was a bit disappointed reading the book, I somehow had expected the book to be better than the book and the book had nothing that would surprise me otherwise.

I somehow felt that the book was like a poor cousin of the movie. The cover was inspired from the movie it seemed and there was nothing new about it. Somehow I think Farhan Akhtars quote and Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra foreward made me feel that the biography felt like an afterthought after the movie was released.

But what I really liked was how the entire life of Milkha Singh was narrated. The writing was gripping and very interesting. The passages about Dr. Howard who was  Milkha’s coach was engaging. However what were missing were details. India’s foremost athlete does deserve a much detailed book which would not just cover events as they occurred but the set backs and its emotional repercussions it had; then this book would have been a wholesome.

Had I not already seen the movie, this book would have been a great read and probably the points mentioned above would not have been so stark. Apart from the points mentioned, this book has been engaging. So pick this book up and decide for yourself.

Pick this book up because a great athlete deserves to be known and revered.

Publisher : Rupa Publications

Genre : Autobiography

Source : Publisher

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 3, 2013 in books

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
