RSS

#BookReview The Case Of The Deadly Butter Chicken by Tarquin Hall

02 Sep

9780099561873I don’t know if it is relevant to the review, but honestly I picked this book up for review because the title made my mouth water. Yes, I am a food and I can’t help if I let my culinary leanings influence my choice of a book. The book was as yummy as its intriguing title and this has been a very interesting yet difficult nighttime read as I could barely keep the hunger pangs away.

Set in the world of cricket, ‘The Case Of The Deadly Butter Chicken’ is about Vish Puri who is fond of butter chicken. Delhi’s Durbar hotel offers a spread with butter chicken on the menu, it is enough for Vish to be one of the first ones to help himself to the feast. Among others attending the lavish spread was Irfan Khan, father of Pakistani star cricketer Kamran Khan.The story takes an unusual turn when on tasting the creamy delicacy Irfan Khan drops dead.

What is wonderful was how the story unfurled, keeping the readers hooked till the very end. Once I began the book I could barely wait to end it. It was one intricate plot which gave nothing away. The thing that amazing me was that Targuin Hall is a British writer and Journalist yet he beautifully captures the idiosyncrasies of the Delhi-ites and the way English is spoken mostly with Hindi words thrown in, This book truly has been a treat, a well Sunday left.

Publisher : Random House

Source : Publisher

Genre : Crime Thriller

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 2, 2013 in books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “#BookReview The Case Of The Deadly Butter Chicken by Tarquin Hall

  1. Reema Sahay

    September 4, 2013 at 1:47 AM

    I too read this book recently and loved it. I loved the humour and the language.

     

Leave a Reply

 
