RSS

Polka Dots, Pony Tails and Purple Pouts by Amrita Anand Nayak

15 May

polka-dots-pony-tails-and-purple-pouts-700x700-imadk282hhuqethqI love chick lits, I have to credit Anuja Chauhan and Rupa Gulab for their wonderful books which contributed to the love for the genre and also the feather on the cap was the fact that Indian writing has improved and has set a benchmark, this at a time when every other person is a writer and has a book to his/her name. So, one can sense my excitement for starting Polka Dots, Pony Tails and Purple Pouts by Amrita Anand Nayak.

What intrigued me about the book was the title which in itself is such a feminine one. Moreover my reason for picking this book up was the blurb. A story about roommates who were friends and how they deal with their relationships is what i made me look forward to it. I for one, did not have a great time with my roommates, not when I was living with them and only one of the four ended up being a great friend. So, in a way i wanted to see how things were in an alternate world. To say i enjoyed the book would be correct however it left me feeling that a lil guidance from the Editor would have done wonders to the book.

The book is well written, the language is easy and flows. But my angst is against the narration!! A good book needs well rounded characters, to establish these characters, one would either write descriptions and flashbacks to establish why these characters are the way they are or you let the story unfurl and the characters are established through events. I felt the descriptions about every character and the stories behind them were too long and repetitive  The readers are intelligent enough to sense the conflicted characters as a result of circumstance. There are so many characters and events that happen in Jasmine’s life, the flashback of Leena’s life and her choice of older men resulting from what she has gone through in life; Tia’s falling in love with Sam.. these did not quite have to be the way they were portrayed. But then again this is my view, I somehow felt a lot of the book could have been edited out, the numerous characters end up confusing you.

This book could have been a very nice entertaining read but by 50 odd pages, there was already so much happening, that you feel fatigued. If the first 50 odd pages seem like a story in itself and you have another 150 odd pages to go you feel mentally drained. The cliches make you cringe and the overdose of chic things made me feel nauseated. How can you call a lady, all dressed up a ‘ravishing dish’ ? While I really really wanted to read the book a part of me went “arrrrrgh!!” every now and then. Some times it was super frivolous, some times ultra modern and sometimes it goes to a whole different tangent. I really wished for what was for the millionth time, that the book was not so descriptive, you don’t have to have a flashback, a bad past or a major issue for every character. Somehow I felt that the author was trying to add a bit of everything to make this a wholesome read and lost her story somewhere in between.

The book is well written, much better as compared to the fiction that is available in the bookstores these days. The plot was pretty intriguing but the narration was a major let down for me. This book could be a fun read while traveling.

Source: Author

Price: Rs, 125

Publisher: General Press

Genre: Fiction/Chick Lit

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 15, 2013 in books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Polka Dots, Pony Tails and Purple Pouts by Amrita Anand Nayak

  1. Nish

    May 15, 2013 at 1:59 PM

    I agree with you too…the book was so fast-paced, I couldn’t deal…here’s my review if you want to check it out:

    http://nishitak.com/2013/04/24/polka-dots-pony-tails-and-purple-pouts-a-book-review/

     

Leave a Reply

 
