RSS

Season of Rainbirds by Nadeem Aslam

18 Mar

16160936Nadeem Aslam is a prize-winning British Pakistani novelist who has been credited for some of the finest writings in the recent times. After Kamila Shamsie and Tehmina Durrani, Nadeem Aslam is the only Pakistani writer I have read and loved to the core. All of the three mentioned authors have stayed with me long after I have read them, their writing is something out of the world. I say this because I have an awful memory and I find it hard to remember things, but lines read from any of their books resonate in my mind long, long after I have read them. This is one of the things I think sets a book apart. This is my second Nadeem Aslam book and to say I loved the book is an understatement, this book secures a permanent place in my shelf!

Season of Rainbirds is set during a monsoon season in the 1980s in a small town in Pakistan. The book revolves around a sack of letters lost in a train crash nineteen years ago.It makes you question if the letters have any connect with Judge Anwar’s murder? The letters and the judge’s death set in motion a series of tragic events. As the murder investigation progresses, tales of passion and betrayal unfolds and secrets which were believed to have been long-buried come to light.

Nadeem Asleem brings the characters to life in a way only he can. You can relate to the characters and they are so life like that the connect is almost instantaneous! To me Nadeem’s writings is a way to know the land  we have heard so much about but we dont’ anything; Pakistan. By the end of the writing, I could almost visualize Pakistan and the life there, that is how powerful Nadeem Aslam’s writing is! 

Nadeem Aslam has done a commendable job in engaging his reader both logically and emotionally at every page. The sensitivity with which the author wrote this book touched me deeply, “Season of the Rainbirds” hold a very special place in my heart.

This is one book you would not want to miss. Nadeem Aslam’s first work of fiction and there are many more out there on the stands. This is a collectors item!

My rating is a 4/5

This review is for Random House India; however the opinions expressed here are my own. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 18, 2013 in books

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
