RSS

Beaten by Bhagath by S. V. Divaakar

04 Mar

9789382473039-651x1024From the Jacket: 

I m sure you can do a much better job than Bhagath! When BB hears these inspiring words from his sexy lady boss, his staid life as a successful analyst in an MNC goes into a tailspin. Bitten by the ego bug and smitten by her, BB sets off on his quest to write a book that’s better than India’s greatest writer Dr. Bhagath’s blockbusters. Nothing unusual about this for BB, who likes a good fight. Except that he and Bhagath had been classmates and friends at college. 

My Review: 

This book was a ‘page-turner’ not because the book was heavy, difficult to comprehend and totally uninteresting but because it was light, entertaining and totally wonderful to read through. The tongue in cheek references to real life people was thoroughly loved, more so the person in question is not someone I am a great fan of and I get really disturbed when most people I come across people who define their love for books by their love for Chetan Bhagat books. Thus one can gauge my trepidation about picking up a book by an Indian author. Let me set the records straight, this book is a cut above the rest when it came to books of this genre. Written well, the author was in control of the story line throughout and what best? This was entertainment at its best.

All of 191 odd pages, I read this book while travelling, while waiting for my friends to turn up and also when I had to shut up a chatterbox of a new colleague. The book made me smile, laugh out in finding connection with real life character and frown when at times when I didn’t quite agree with the way things were being portrayed.

This book is a fine account of the challenges that a first time author goes through. the zest with which one writes, one chapter at a time, the anger and frustrations when family members intervene. The extreme hassles of going about daily life when all you want to do is shut out the world and just write. I have never been an author but as a book worm this is how I feel too when i am reading a book I absolutely love. One of things I found totally hilarious is how the author described BB doing his marital duties and then sneaking out quickly afterwards to write.

The ragging scene between Bhagath, BB and the seniors was totally funny. I almost waited with baited breath wondering what trick will Bhagath pull to get one up with Samson. Ragging has been written about a lot in the recent times, so the challenge was to bring out an incident which was unique and written in a funny way. This one scene was masterfully put forward. What I found endearing was how the book spoke not just about BB’s anger and frustration about having to write a bestseller, but the fact that he noticed the travails of his wife and her undying efforts. There were times I felt totally frustrated by the way Bhagath treated his wife and kept thinking that had it been me, I would have been livid. To engage an audience to that level is in itself a mark of great prowess in the part of the author.

As a book reviewer I realized and identified with the reactions of all those who actually read BB’s manuscripts. the entire experience is described wonderfully and in a very candid way. Most often, reviews do-not want to hurt the sentiments of the authors hence use diplomatic words to skirt the issue. When you come across words like ‘page-turner’ you assume that the reader loved reading  and couldn’t wait to finish the book. What we don’t ever think is, that the book could have been a lil complex and hence the reader might have skipped pages to get ahead! I loved these lil insights that the book had to offer and it beautifully and candidly covers the new book-writing phenomenon that has gripped the nation, from the perspective of the publishers, the readers, the reviewers and from the standpoint of the author himself!

I had a gala time reading it. Beaten by Bhagath is a light and entertaining read.

Pick this book up while travelling, one of those rare books that does not disappoint and leaves you satisfied.

This is an author requested review. However the opinions expressed here are my own and is in no way influenced. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 4, 2013 in books

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
