RSS

Artist of Disappearance by Anita Desai

02 Jan

From the jacket:

A triptych of beautifully crafted novellas make up Anita Desai’s exquisite new book. Set in modern India, but where history still casts a long shadow, the stories move beyond the cities to places still haunted by the past, and to characters who are, each in their own way, masters of self-effacement.

lr_desai_jpg_743771e

My review: 

There is not much to say when it comes to Anita Desai. She is just magnificent in her writings, I have read her before and reading her was a pleasure. There is hardly anything to critique her for.

I was gifted this book by a dear friend and I read it on my train journey from Kolkata to Delhi. I just have to admit this book was the only reason why an otherwise boring and tiring journey seemed so worthwhile. To say I enjoyed reading it is an understatement.

Anita Desai is a peerless storyteller, she has a compelling narrative style with great emphasis to small details and vignettes.

This is a collectors item. A book you would enjoy reading at home or on a journey.

My rating is a 4/5

This review is for Random House India; however the opinions expressed here are my own. 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 2, 2013 in books

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
