RSS

Manto: Selected Short Stories Translated by Aatish Taseer

30 Nov

Before I write about this book, I just have to say that this book is a gem, and a collector’s item.  If you love reading, this is one book you will want to keep on your mantel piece. Not only is it a great book to read, the language is immaculate, the flow is amazing and well the introduction is the best I have come across in a long, long time.

manto_selected_short_stories_by_aatish_taseerI have read Manto in college, I have loved him ever since. I hate reading short stories but never his. What intrigues me about Manto is that he uses just a handful words to tell an extraordinary story set in an otherwise ordinary set up and leaves you reeling under the powerful impact of it all! Khol Do is easily my favorite; nothing can prepare you for the way the story is going to make you feel.

Manto has been translated into English several times over but never this efficiently. Often a lot of the essence is lost in translation. It took a Aatish Taseer to bring out the Manto-esque flavor  which is just delightful. Taseer was successful in feeling the pulse of all of these wonderful stories and narrated them beautifully! I am not surprised here, because Aatish Taseer has a literary history behind him and a rich legacy to back him up, that is daunting to say the very least.

I loved this book and I am not being biased here when I say I’d give the book a 4.5/5

This review is for Random House India; however the opinions expressed here are my own.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 30, 2012 in books

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
