RSS

Losing My Virginity and Other Dumb Ideas- Madhuri Banerjee

27 Nov

Before I talk about how I simply loved this book and the extent I went just to finish it; I think its important to tell how I managed to stumble upon this phenomenon called Madhuri Banerjee. I found a stray link on a friend’s Facebook account to CNN IBN blog and soon I was not just reading Chastity Belt written by Madhuri Banerjee but I started fanatically reading whatever I could written by her. I read her articles for CNN blog, i fished our her blog and read up all her previous posts but the revelation happened when I came across Chapter 21 of her maiden book on Rediff.com. I did read her Two To A Tango (a short story written by her) before and liked the way she handled the entire story line but something about this one abstract chapter tugged at my heart and I knew I had to read it any how and soon.

nac121I first came across the 21st chapter in an online portal. On reading the excerpt of the book I knew I wanted to know more. I was hooked and I knew I would have to find ways to get my hands on it. But then when I read that it was about a 30 year old virgin waiting to lose her virginity I felt “O my God! this book is going to be like TOI’s lifestyle articles that talks about sex and other related stuff in a know all manner trying to impose a very western school of thought on a very Indian mindset!” I couldn’t have been farther from the truth. It is easy to relate to the protagonist where she values her virginity not because she didn’t find anyone to lose it to but she wanted to make love to someone she was truly in love with. Isnt it how we all feel somehow? Isn’t it how all are friends who have done “It” make those who haven’t feel, trying to impress upon us the need to devirginize us?  You will identify with the book or the characters in more ways than one and that is the beauty of the book.

Yes there are patches when my attention wavered to be honest and there were parts I didn’t think was relevant but then mostly the book is probably a handbook for very urban girl. It contains a little bit of all of us, the usual paranoia about our weight, dilemma about what to wear, apprehension about being fat and not being attractive enough for the men. The constant struggle with love, losing ourselves in the man whom we consider to be the Great Love who ends up battering your soul and leaves you to pick up the broken pieces. The book talks about the desires of a lady in love, anguished having to share her man with his wife in a vulnerable yet endearing sort of a way. For once you wont term Kaveri as a slut or the Other Woman, you will empathize with her situation, you will understand that her reasons for being with a married man was just love and nothing else. Kaveri’s character evolves as the book proceeds and with it the heart and soul of the reader gets purged. We are all allowed a mistake or two in life but what matters is learning from them and doing the right thing. Kaveri managed to find herself and her self res
pect, and she realizes what she did, she did it for the reasons she felt was right and that is what made this book so endearing.

Priced at a modest Rs 150/- the book is a delightful read. Losing My Virginity and Other Dumb Ideas managed to move me once again. Loved reading the book will be an understatement. Unlike other chick lit or books belonging to the genre of popular fiction this book stands tall for being unique, and it has something for everyone.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 27, 2012 in books

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
